Sony Vaio VGN-SZ5XRN Teardown (and possibly a project!)

I recently acquired a Sony Vaio VGN-SZ Series laptop computer from a friend who said it was overheating too much. The computer is 4 years old as it was released in 2008. The specs on the computer are very nice with 2GB RAM, a 2.00Ghz Intel processor and NVIDIA GeForce 7400 graphics. This is an excellent laptop for carrying around as a work laptop as it has a nice and sleek shape for its age. You could probably already work out from the image below that this laptop has already gone through quite a beating with the sides gone and the keyboard just holding on with its last few notches…

Without any regrets I decided to disassemble the machine and have a look at how it has been made. Basically I just undid all the screws and even with them undone  I was unable to take it apart without ripping off something with force… This is how it went:

This stupid plastic that was there without any reason gave me problems during the teardown, because I wanted everything to be disassembled as carefully as possible, however it had to be cut because it was impossible to get the wires out of it.

You can never keep your workbench clean no matter what!

And here is the result with everything taken away and just the electronics left.

Old laptops always make me unimpressed with their layout and this one is no different. I mean just look at the amount of wires coming out and going in to everything, absolutely ridiculous! Can’t you just make it nice and simple and just have a block of PCB? Anyways I was very unimpressed with the build quality of the laptop, everything felt very cheap and didn’t feel like a quality product. After running this thing for a bit, it still got really hot and the CPU was too hot too touch. Whats funny about this teardown that even after I took it apart it still works…

Which leads me onto my next bit. The possible project. Not long ago I saw a video on how somebody converted their laptop into a desktop pc and put the thing between two slabs of aluminium. It looks really neat and sounds like a fun project to attempt. Except for one thing, I don’t understand how the parts are not getting short circuited through the aluminium. The video is below.

I was thinking perhaps I could do this and maybe make myself a nice little work computer for my workbench where I can display circuits so I don’t have to look back at my laptop each time (My lab desk and my work desk are opposite each other). Anyways just for now this is sitting in a box while I decide what to do with it. It might be sitting there for a while, but if you have any suggestions or anything like that feel free to post a comment!

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

